On this page you’ll find links to trusted local and national resources for Maine car seat laws. Here, everyone in the car must buckle up. The child passenger safety laws in Maine have age AND weight requirements for kids under 8 years old. Kids over 8 must meet the 4′-9″ height requirement to use only an adult seatbelt. To ride in the front seat safely, kids must be 12 years old and weigh at least 100 pounds.
For more information, click on the links below.
State Resources for Maine Car Seat Laws
Maine Legislature – Title 29-A. These are the Maine Car Seat Laws and seatbelt laws.
Buckle Up Maine – A 2 page PDF brochure describing car seat laws and best practices in Maine. It also includes a graph of which seat to use by age. Note, however, that age is not the only requirement of the law.
Maine Bureau of Highway Safety – This page has child safety seat statistics and best practices.
Maine Department of Public Safety – A list by county of car seat (and booster seat) inspection station locations.
Tall Pines Safety – A calendar of SafeKids Maine car seat check events.
Maine Bureau of Highway Safety – Car seat distribution locations and contact information. Not everyone is eligible to receive a free car seat or booster seat. A waiting list is also likely. Click the link for more details.
National Resources for Maine Car Seat Laws
nhtsa.gov – U.S. Department of Transportation / National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website
safercar.gov – The NHTSA publishes this site. Parents Central is the child safety section. This is a great info packed site, so if you have questions about almost anything related to car seats or booster seats, definitely check this one out.
iihs.org – Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, child safety page
safekids.org – A global organization about keeping children safe, especially from preventable injuries or fatalities. Their site includes tips on car seat choice and car seat inspection events, among other things.