This is the Connecticut car seat law information page.  You will find links to many local and national resources here. Connecticut child passenger safety laws are less than safety experts advise.  Infants only have to ride rear facing until they are 20 pounds and 1 year old. Crash data says babies are safer riding rear facing until they are at least 2 years old.

Many state laws use age OR weight limit limits to determine when a child can move to the next stage of child safety restraint. In Connecticut the law requires that a child meet both the age requirement AND the weight requirement.

See the links below for more information.

State and National Resources for Connecticut Car Seat Law Information – The home page of this very helpful site is a frequently asked questions page. It includes a description of what to expect at a car seat installation check.

City of New Haven – This is a PDF put out by SafeKids Connecticut that describes the Connecticut car seat law and fine. It also includes recommendations for best practices and a list of SafeKids phone numbers by county. English version  Spanish version – A helpful PDF about infant car seat safety.

More from – A trifold brochure in PDF format that covers the Connecticut law plus installation and fitting tips for each of the 4 stages of car seat use. English version  Spanish version – Links to fitting stations (regularly scheduled car seat checks) by county.  – U.S. Department of Transportation / National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website – The NHTSA publishes this site. Parents Central is the child safety section. This is a great info packed site, so if you have questions about almost anything related to car seats or booster seats, definitely check this one out. – Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, child safety page – A global organization about keeping children safe, especially from preventable injuries or fatalities. Their site includes tips on car seat choice and car seat inspection events, among other things.