As in some other states, Utah car seat laws are combined with the seat belt laws. Here, everyone in a vehicle is required to buckle up. Children under 8 years old need to ride in a car seat or booster seat. A child under 8 who is already at least 4′-9″ (57″) tall may use only an adult seat belt, providing it fits correctly.
Safety experts have more specific guidelines to follow. There are 4 stages of car seat and booster seat use, based on a child’s age, weight, and height. It is recommended to keep kids in each stage until they outgrow either the manufacturer’s weight or height limit for their car seat.
The last stage is to use an adult seat belt, if it fits correctly. Check out the links below for more details on Utah’s requirements and best practices for safety.
State Resources for Utah Car Seat Laws
Utah State Legislature – Title 41 (Chapter 6a, Part 18, Section 1803) is the car seat and seat belt law in Utah
Click It Utah – 0-12 months (rear facing car seats)
Click It Utah – 1-3 years (rear and forward facing car seats)
Click It Utah – 4-7 years (forward facing car seats and booster seats)
Click It Utah – 8-12 years (when to transition to only a seatbelt)
Utah Department of Public Safety – seat belt and car seat information
Utah.gov – list of car seat inspection stations
National Resources for Utah Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws
nhtsa.gov – U.S. Department of Transportation / National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website
safercar.gov – Also known as Parents Central, this is the child safety section of the safercar.gov website, published through the NHTSA. This is an awesome info packed site, so if you have general questions, definitely stop here.
iihs.org – Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, child safety page
safekids.org – A global organization all about keeping kids safe, especially from preventable injuries or fatalities. Their site includes tips on car seat choice and car seat inspection events, among other things.