Looking for New Jersey car seat laws and booster seat laws? Right away, you should know that updates to the law went into effect in September 2015. The law still requires that children under 8 or 80 pounds ride in a child safety seat. Now, there are specific age and weight requirements for kids under 8. Little ones under 4 years old and under 40 pounds need to ride in a car seat with a 5-point harness. Babies under 2 years old and under 30 pounds should ride in rear facing car seats. Fines are higher, too.
Also, in New Jersey, kids under 18 are required to use a seat belt. Check out the links below for details.
State and National Resources for New Jersey Car Seat Laws
New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety – This page covers the 2015 changes to New Jersey car seat laws. It also has a question and answer section about booster seats, a section on how to determine whether your child is ready for just a seat belt, and links to car seat check locations and car seat recall information.
New Jersey Legislature – The statute as it is written, in PDF form.
State of New Jersey (nj.com) – A list of car seat check locations by county. Includes phone numbers to call for more information and making appointments.
nj.com – This is a news article describing the car seat law changes that went into affect in September 2015, including increased fines.
nhtsa.gov – U.S. Department of Transportation / National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website
safercar.gov – Also known as Parents Central, this is the child safety section of the safercar.gov website, published through the NHTSA. This is an awesome info packed site, so if you have general questions, definitely stop here.
iihs.org – Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, child safety page
safekids.org – A global organization all about keeping kids safe, especially from preventable injuries or fatalities. Their site includes tips on car seat choice and car seat inspection events, among other things.