Hawaii car seat laws and booster seat laws are more dependent on manufacturer recommendations that some states. Children under 8 are required to ride in a car seat or booster seat. Kids under 4 must travel in a car seat. Hawaii fines can be up to $500, depending on the number of infractions. Drivers must attend a 4 hour class as well.
There is something else unique to Hawaii. The state offers a $25 tax credit (per year) toward the purchase of a car seat or booster seat.
Check out the links below for more details on safety recommendations and Hawaii law.
Links to State Resources for Hawaii Car Seat Laws
Hawaii Department of Transportation – car seat and booster seat laws and fines
Hawaii.gov – Official State of Hawaii site – car seat laws and fines, as well as seatbelt and distracted driving regulations. This site has a translator feature that offers more than 20 different languages.
Keiki Injury Prevention Coalition – car seat safety information and inspection stations
nhtsa.gov – U.S. Department of Transportation / National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website
National Resources for Hawaii Car Seat Laws
safercar.gov – Also known as Parents Central, this is the child safety section of the safercar.gov website, published through the NHTSA. This is an awesome info packed site, so if you have general questions, definitely stop here.
iihs.org – Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, child safety page
safekids.org – A global organization all about keeping kids safe, especially from preventable injuries or fatalities. Their site includes tips on car seat choice and car seat inspection events, among other things.